Charleston, 7/22

I have got to figure out a way to catch up on my weekend posts before the end of the next week.  I’m working on it.  Anyway, I had such a good time in Charleston last weekend!  I’ll start with Friday. 

Friday

A big decison was made on the wedding front on Friday morning.  We went on a tour of the Spirit of the Lowcountry, a boat that we will have our rehearsal dinner on!  We got the low down on how it will work – cocktail hour on the outside top deck and the upper inside deck, then dinner on the lower deck – while it cruises around the Charleston Harbor.  I think it’s going to be so much fun and I cannot WAIT for April 20th to hurry up at get here.

            Lunch

After seeing the boat, Caroline and I went to eat lunch at Blossom on East Bay.  I LOVE Blossom, but our meal was even better than usual because it was FREE.  Yes, free…they lost our order, so they said our meal was on them – should have gotten those apps we wanted…oh well.  We both got frozen peach bellinis to cool us off – it felt like it was 115 degrees outside and we were both dripping sweat from our walk to the restaurant.

Blossom Frozen Peach Bellini

They were SO good…I wanted way more than one.  I got the Bar-B-Cuban and it was out of this world good.  A combo between a bbq sandwich and a cuban – genius.

pulled pork, mustard Q, sliced pickles, Amish Swiss

Caroline got the Grilled Chicken Wrap and it was amazing too.  I don’t know what they marinated the chicken in, but it was tasty.

chopped romaine, tomatoes, smoked gouda

          Afternoon Stroll

We did some walking around after lunch and went to see St. Philips Episcopal, the church John and I will be married in on April 21st!!

Side entrance

front view with steeplefront view

It’s such a pretty church and it’s where my parents got married, so I am so thankful that we can have the ceremony there – makes things even more special.

Of course, I had to stop by Market Street Sweets to pick up some goodies for my dad.

Pralines...yum.

I usually just get him the original kind, but they had samples of the chocolate when we went in the store and I fell in love.  I hadn’t ever tasted chocolate pralines before Friday – I didn’t know what I was missing out on.  If you haven’t ever tasted them, swing by and snag a sample….it has the texture of a praline, but tastes like a fudge brownie.  Whoa.

That night, Lytle and I went on a complimentary dinner cruise on the Spirit of Carolina to see what dinner on a boat would be like.  It was awesome and the food was surprisingly REALLY good.  I don’t have any good pics though…bummer. 

We then met up with Caroline and Susanne to go out downtown!

Lytle, Susanne, myself, Caroline

We hit up Trio, Silver Dollar, and Omally’s…yes in that order.  When we got home at 2:30am I ordered pizza and cheesy bread, tried to cancel it when I realized that we were going to hit the hay before it arrived, sat on the front steps to wait for it, gave up, went inside and fell asleep.  Woke up Saturday morning to a pizza on the front porch that was being thoroughly enjoyed by a friendly roach.

Comments