Uninteresting Food May Actually Be Interesting

Friday night at the rehearsal dinner, a friend made me realize that I have been sharing a very skewed view of my everyday eats.  Up to this point, I’ve been only putting the good food I cook on the blog and leaving out the thrown together/quick/lazy and “uninteresting” meals.  I was doing this because I didn’t think anyone would want to read about bowls of cereal, leftovers, take-out, frozen dinners, hot-n-ready pizzas, etc. – not even thinking about the fact that it gives the impression I cook most of my meals or always eat “healthy” food, which is definitely NOT the case.  I try to cook as often as I can but sometimes I don’t have time, chose to eat out, or am just plain lazy.  As for eating healthy, it’s all about balance for me.  If I indulge in something unhealthy, I’ll just make healthy choices after that.  I’m not about to attempt to deprive myself of the things I love most – i.e. ice cream and cookies.  Those things make me happy, so I’ll continue to let myself have treats till the end of time.  Fo sho.

She also made me realize that people want to read about those uninteresting meals because it’s normal and real, which is what I want this blog to be all about.  This being said, I’m going to start including these meals because I am most definitely normal (depending on who you ask, I guess 🙂 ).  

I’ll start with Breakfast this morning:

1 cup of Kashi Heart to Heart Honey Toasted Oat cereal mixed with 1/4 cup of Ezekiel Organic Sprouted Whole Grain Cereal and 1 cup of almond milk in a to-go cup for the ride to work.

DSC02239

Quick, but nutritious.  Lots of fiber, protein and calcium and very low in fat and sugar. 

Lunch

I came home for lunch and toasted a sandwich flat, spread both sides with a thin layer of all natural peanut butter, and topped with banana slices and a sprinkle of cinnamon –  with a side of grapes. 

DSC02240

This was a pretty big banana, so I ate the other half with an apple as a pre-run snack late this afternoon.  Since I skipped my long run on Sunday, I made myself do it after work today.  I thought it was going to be really tough, but it actually felt good to give my legs a good, long workout.  Maybe I needed a 3 day break after all.

Training Day 36 of 82: 8 mile run

DSC02241

  • Distance: 8.20
  • Time: 1 hr, 33 minutes

Dinner

After my run, I met John for a quick dinner at Mellow Mushroom.  I had a build-your-own salad with spring mix, roma tomatoes, herb chicken, onions, basil leaves, mushrooms and balsamic vinegar. 

DSC02242

It was good, as always.  The chicken was just the right amount of protein to help me recover from the long run.  Now I’m going to get off the computer so I can give my full attention to Gossip Girl.  Toots!

2 thoughts on “Uninteresting Food May Actually Be Interesting

    • Don’t get this one! It’s a timex, but doesn’t have gps like a garmin so it only estimates my distance by stride, and that changes depending on how fast/slow I run. I’m saving up for a garmin forerunner 405 or garmin forerunner 305…I’m still deciding on which one. I’ve read tons of good reviews about these watches!

Comments